All set for Enshrinement in St. Louis presented by Great Southern Bank

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame on Sunday will honor its Class of 2021 during the Enshrinement in St. Louis presented by Great Southern Bank.

The event is set for a noon reception, followed by a 1 p.m. ceremony on Sunday at Chase Park Plaza. The Hall of Fame will honor 13 individuals, five high school programs/teams and bestow the John Q. Hammons Founder’s Award on the Hannibal Regional Foundation.

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame is a 501c-3 not-for-profit and, through most of its 27-year history, has never applied for state or federal funding.

For last-minute tickets, call 417-241-1551.

The museum is located in Springfield. Sunday’s event marked the Hall of Fame’s 11th Enshrinement away from Springfield, and third in the St. Louis area, as a way to recognize more deserving individuals and allow more of their friends and family to attend. Previous November Enshrinements have been held in St. Joseph, Kirksville, Jefferson City, St. Charles, Independence, Cape Girardeau, Columbia and Kansas City.

The Class of 2021 is as follows:

  • Larry Hughes – Basketball player
  • Andy Van Slyke Louis Cardinals
  • Charlie Brown – Jefferson City HS & University of Missouri football standout
  • Steve Savard – Sports Broadcasting
  • Jack R. Watkins, Jr. – Missouri Valley Conference
  • John Vianney High School Boys Soccer Program
  • Frank Viverito – Director, St. Louis Sports Commission
  • Barbara Berkmeyer – Golf
  • Mike Russell – Lutheran North Football Coach
  • MICDS Football Program
  • Celeste Knierim – Softball Coach
  • Mike Claiborne – Sports Broadcasting
  • Lafayette Wildwood High School Girls Swimming & Diving Program
  • Jim Bidewell – Portageville High School Basketball Coach
  • William Greenblatt – Media
  • Lindbergh High School Boys Cross Country Teams 1972-1979
  • Sandi Gildehaus – Francis Borgia Cheerleading Coach
  • Francis Borgia High School Cheerleading Program
  • Hannibal Regional Foundation – Founder’s Award