Sports Commission Awards to honor southwest Missouri high school athletes


The Springfield Sports Commission and the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame are teaming up to continue a grand awards show for the top high school athletes from across southwest Missouri, its directors announced Tuesday.

The Sports Commission Awards presented by Elliott Lodging will invite the top five finalists in 19 varsity sports and honor 10 additional categories such as Boys Team of the Year, Girls Team of the Year as well as the Male Athlete of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year for what should be a memorable night celebrating the area’s great sports year of 2017-2018.

Formerly the 1 Awards, the event is set for 6 p.m. on Monday, June 11 at the Oasis Hotel & Convention Center in Springfield.

“The Springfield Sports Commission is thrilled to continue to recognize the outstanding achievements of our area athletes,” said Lance Kettering, Executive Director of the Springfield Sports Commission. “Partnering with the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame is a natural fit as many of these athletes will some day find themselves in various Halls of Fame and possibly the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. We are greatly appreciative of the long-time 1 Awards partner and friend, Elliott Lodging, which will join us in honoring these athletes. Elliott Lodging is a wonderful friend to the sports community, and this partnership further showcases their commitment to the area and region.”

Sponsorship tables of eight are $350, while an individual ticket is $30. Numerous sponsorships also are available, including in the printed program. Tickets can be purchased through Eventbrite. Tables can be purchased through the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame at 417-889-3100. The website is

“The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame is delighted to assist the Springfield Sports Commission in making the Commission Awards a great experience for high school athletes,” said Jerald Andrews, President & Executive Director of the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. “This has been a terrific event for southwest Missouri.”