Missouri Valley Conference Display


The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame has created a new display on the second floor of the museum, courtesy of the Missouri Valley Conference.  Walk through time and see how the Missouri Valley Conference has grown since their beginnings in 1907.  Each framed piece represents five year increments in the history of the MVC.  Some highlights include:  Larry Bird becomes the consenus national player of the year in 1979; current commissioner Doug Elgin was appointed in 1988; Southwest Missouri State University was admitted to the Valley in 1990; in 2006, former Drake alumnus Zach Johnson becomes the first MVC golfer to qualify for the U.S. Ryder Cup Team.

Next time you are at the Hall, be sure to take a little extra time on the second floor of the museum to walk through the history of the Missouri Valley Conference.